Womans Divorce Forum

Discuss your troubles, compare ex's, offer suggestions, and share stories!

Womans Divorce Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Im at my wits end

Hello All! It is been so long since I have used a forum chat room or even IM'd---my husband who is incredibly jealous and insecure prefers me not to chat online...

At any rate I am here today because I have been considering divorcing my husband for two years now. Not because I fell out of love but because so many horrible things have transpired between us. I feel constantly worn down, belittled and undermined. My husband is very moody---The roller coaster of his emotions along with my own has taken a toll on me physically as well as mentally.

I have been married for 5 years and we have been together for a total of 8. We were married at 23---Now at 28 I realize how much of a rush and mistake our matrimony was. My husband and I both come from difficult backgrounds where we both suffered physical and sexual abuse. Unfortunately our unresolved issues is a source of contention in our relationship--I have severe PTSD and my husband has made it worse over the years with his physical, mental and emotional abuse. My husband has not assaulted me in 9 months--the last time we fought (this time the fighting was mutual) i ended up re-injuring my left ankle and was unable to walk for over 2 months--this was the second time he broke my ankle. The first time occurred 8 years ago when were dating. He picked me up from work, picked a fight with me, and began punching a bowl I held in my lap--We crashed into a tree going 50 MPH. My ankle was fractured and dislocated--I had to have surgery. I was unable to walk for 6 months and now have a screw in my ankle.

Although the physical assault has decreased tremendously he is still abusive emotionally and financially. he hides bills, lies about where his money is being spent and is extremely secretive.