Womans Divorce Forum

Discuss your troubles, compare ex's, offer suggestions, and share stories!

Womans Divorce Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
I am beginning to realize I need to fight

My husband left me for another woman after 17 years and four boys. During the marriage I was diagnosed with a mental illness but he had no problem getting me pregnant another 3 times! Now he has taken all our children to another state and left me with nothing but SSI. I cannot afford to go live near my children or visit them. It has been almost a year since i have seen them 17, 15, 4, 2. Our sons need counseling and he has not taken them one time in almost 2 years of this divorce. He destroyed my car and then made me give him the car his mother had given me for the kids. I am forced to live with my mother in a rural area where I cannot go anywhere with out asking her help. I am a smart and beautiful woman. I am an artist and I have been forced to give up my business and my education to satisfy his dreams. He has always been underemployed. we fought about it many times. he gave up a full ride to an ivy league school becaus ehe wanted to party, he gave up a 7 figure job oppurtunity to make 24,000 at the local water plant. I have always caved to him because he is so smart and knows all of my weaknesses but I am beginning to feel like I need to fight for my rights and my children. I have no money to hire an attorney. I feel like he should pay alimony so that I can at least live near my children and be able to start my business and education again. I am 37 I was with him since 18 years old. I went form living with my parents to married to him. I was mostly a SAHM. He has talked down to me so much to my teenagers that they think I am worthless. they tell me that constantly. I am heartbroken and mad! Where do I start?

Re: I am beginning to realize I need to fight