Womans Divorce Forum

Discuss your troubles, compare ex's, offer suggestions, and share stories!

Womans Divorce Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: In the process of a divorce

I'm only 38 and still in a pretty awful marriage - but I just wanted to sat that at 51 you are YOUNG. Easy for me to say I know but get yourself out as much as possible. I work with a woman who is over 60 and will only be allowed to work for another few years due to visa requirements here. She is really depressed BUT has managed to lessen this by going to as many social engagements as she possibly can. She volunteers, she helps the younger ones with their little kids. She is on the P&T board of a local school.
I know you probably have thought of this all and I don't mean to be patronising. If it isn't too much to ask - what profession are you in? And I also asked a question - how to know? Can you share any wisdom?

Hello,

Thank you for your response. I am a Social Worker and have done counseling for others in the past. I think that is why this is so hard. I just can't accept this and deal with all of the emotions I am feeling. Divorce is like a grieving process due to the loss. I am sorry to say it is worse than a death. I don't think there will be any closure for me when he and his girlfriend live in the same community. I go places all of the time. I do a lot of volunteer work and stay busy all of the time. I have met new friends and began new hobbies. I am tired of doing all of this alone. It just is not enough to fill my life and that is what I can't accept. I never wanted to be divorced and alone and that is what I have to accept.

I did read your post also. I know exactly what you mean about not wanting to go through the process, the stigma all of it and am living through this now.