Log On Today - Fish On Tomorrow!

(603) 731-1804 / (603) 344-8698

Welcome Fish Lake Winni Anglers
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Absolute Beginner

what species of fish are you seeking Mike? Different species require different methods and bait.
I'll answer what Q's I can and I am sure others will chime in as well.

Tibbs

what is it you want to fish for, with the cheap rod, you can just add some lures for the bass. keep it simple with some rubber worms and maybe a few top waters like a jitterbug. go to real takle shops like aj's in merideth and paigus bay takle and talk to the owners, they will set you up with all sorts of info. if your going for salmon, almost all of us started with a leadcore setup, either of those stores can set you up with the minimal equipment and some lures and some hot fishing spots on the lake. hiring a guide will take years of the learning curve, but you can always do it the hard way like alot of us did with lots of time on the water. some of us just like being out there and the fishing is a plus

Yeah some bass would be nice. I've caught a few off my dock. Basically the only method I use is to throw out a worm on a hook with one or two lead sinkers and slowly reel it in. Would lures/rubber worms work just as well?

With bass you won't need any of the trolling gear that is discussed mostly on this site (downriggers, leadcore, levelwind reels, fishfinders with GPS, rod jiggers, etc). You are fine with a simple rod and reel (my preference is with 8# test).

Smallmouth will be found around docks and prefer rocky/sandy bottoms. Largemouth will also be found around docks but prefer weedy/muddy areas. This time of year, smallmouth will bite a bottlecap!