Welcome Fish Lake Winni Angler's

Log On Today - Fish On Tomorrow!

(603) 731-1804 / (603) 344-8698

Welcome Fish Lake Winni Anglers
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
2010 Outlook

By the end of last year, I decided that I would focus on fly fishing I have been fishing lakes for the last 5 years. I really miss the casting and reading of the water, and more importantly trying to match the hatch. All of the recent salmon developments, further validate this decision. In fact last year I only hit Winni 3 times (one on a charter with Travis). The reason, was really lake access. The changes at Glendale pretty much ended my 4 years of great access. Instead, I hit many trout ponds and lakes including some good waters with multi species where they stock browns and boy noone fishes for them and they get big. Most of these lakes have limited deep water so you know where to go.

I will also do a fair amount of bass fishing with the kids and Stripers in the ocean. I look forward to spending time on the quality trout fly fishing only waters also since they were all my stomping grounds pre-motorboat. I am really looking forward to it this year.

We are very lucky to have such a diverse fishery in NH and New England. So giving salmon a break for a year or two is fine for me.

I do feel bad for the many guides and local businesses where this potential supplemental income loss can be tough to deal with. I hope you all find your ways through the potentially tough times this may cause.

I would like to thank Travis, Jason and Adrian for helping me when I started fishing Lake Winni. They each shared bit of info to this day I consider very private it was very helpful in learning just enough about Winni to keep wanting to come back. This information was not mine to share on the board so I didn't.