Womans Divorce Forum

Discuss your troubles, compare ex's, offer suggestions, and share stories!

Womans Divorce Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Needing to vent

Hi all. I'm new to this, but like you looking for support to get me through. I've been following your posts for a week now, crying with and praying for each of you. I've been married for 19 years and separated for almost 9 months. I'm glad he moved out and just want an end to the emotional turmoil. Our marriage has always been very one sided -- he works, takes trips and buys "toys" while I work, take care of the kids, maintain the house, look after the pets, etc. etc. After 19 years, I feel like a sponge that's been completely wrung out. Oh and did I mention the other woman? His mother. He involves her in every decision he makes. She even has control of all of his money! I've wanted a divorce for a long time but he just won't let go and I'm afraid of what he and his family will put me and the kids through (daughters - 16 & 11). In fact, he walked out five years ago and became so mentally unstable I let him come back because I was afraid he would hurt himself and wanted to keep myself between him and the girls. (He's never been physically abusive - just emotionally and he doesn't drink or do drugs.) Now we're right back to where we were five years ago -- he left yet he doesn't want to lose me and is threatening suicide if I don't take him back, etc., etc. I just don't know what to do because I believe he would do something to himself. He's a cop and carries a gun 15 hours a day, and he's a lieutenant no less about to be promoted to a captain. So if I say anything to his superiors, it would most likely destroy his entire career and that really would push him over the edge. I'm trying to get him to go to a counselor with me hoping a professional will help him deal better. Other than that I pray, and cry ... and look for a few friends to help me get through this.