Womans Divorce Forum

Discuss your troubles, compare ex's, offer suggestions, and share stories!

Womans Divorce Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Kids health insurance

Well I have to say I don't know for sure, but it seems to me the logical, right thing is to pay for the kids only. Why would you pay for health insurance for his new wife and baby? I am not a lawyer so I can't say 100% but if you end up paying for his new wife and baby to have health insurance there is something very wrong with our system. Please let me know what happens.

Teresa

I would say that you only have to pay half of your childs portion if I had to guess. When ex had to pay me back child support, part of which was for the Ins that I had for myself and my son, they just figured what the premium would be for just my son and halved it.

In my state you would ask the employeer for the amount it costs for the children that are added to the adults in this family plan. They have a cost for employee and spouse, the additional amount is for the children, this is the amount you will divide equally by the amount of children. Lets say that the children portion is exactly 100.00 and you together with your ex had three children, he with his new wife has one child, the portion that belongs to your children together is 75.00. Are you court order to pay the entire portion of the childrens insurance or only a percentage, if a percentage than take that amount from the example of 75.00, if the full amount then as in the example 75.00 would be the amount you have to pay.
Not sure where the 1/5th came into the equation.

Thank you for your reply.

The one fifth comes into play with his thinking that there are 5 people on his policy, 2 of them are our kids together. He thinks that we should split the cost of his family plan coverage, which would be one fifth of what he pays because he and I split the cost of the insurance - since we have 2 kids, I'd pay for one of the kids.