Womans Divorce Forum

Discuss your troubles, compare ex's, offer suggestions, and share stories!

Womans Divorce Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
child arrangements order confusion

I think that I am near the end of this god awful road at last.I left my husband 3 years ago now.I did the very wrong thing of having an affair.I have no excuses but I had been telling him that I was going to leave for 2 years solid.I had heavy antidepressants, counselling etc before I finally couldn't get the message home to him that I was desperately unhappy in our marriage any more.Unfortunately this was the only way I felt at the time he would listen.......drastic I know and unfair on all around.I had fallen in love with the man I had an affair with by the way and I didn't sleep with my husband ever again after I had met this man and left him soon after.We had planned to be together but for many reasons it simply didn't work out.
I am now completely the man I fell for but it took a while and also left me on my own (which I am now grateful for).
This behaviour of mine saw months of hell (and it continues) I am now having to fight him in court for my 4 children home after I had a emotional breakdown, this saw me have to give up work for a year and let my ex H have the children whilst I got myself well again.I hit rock bottom, thankfully my rock bottom wasn't quite suicide but almost.I wanted to write because I realise that often on these forums someone who has an affair is seen as a monster.
It isn't something I would ever do again but I wanted to voice for people that struggled so much with the pain of leaving and the aftermath of a very difficult time for all of us that there is light at the end of the tunnel.
I am now well (still fragile) but alive and rebuilding my future although I am not sure quite where that will take me now.