Click Here to Visit Our Facebook Page

email: icehockeydboard@yahoo.com

High School & Prep Hockey
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Jeff Cox knows stuff

I am a sports psychologist and did my thesis on the role social media and print have on a youth athelete. In today’s world, kids from 9-17 are dependent on 2 things: 1. You. 2. Social standing. In there perception of the world nothing exists if it’s not on some form of media for them. Competitive teen male athletes are the ones most impacted and can ultimately lead to that athlete losing interest in the sport. We have kids who think their entire being revolves around a college commitment or some other type of accomplishment that is most likely unattainable by a vast majority of these youth. The sport of men’s ice hockey may be the worst, along with men’s soccer.
1 easy way to avoid some of downfalls is to talk to your athelete ( even the older ones) about realistic goals in the game and the future, let him run the conversation about what he wants to do and not what you want him to do, but also be the adult and use facts to help shape the goals. Get rid of Twitter! You will not believe how influential tweets from coaches or scouts or schools can be on these young men.. get rid of it, let them focus on their goals and path not dwell on a 140 word thought.

I don’t know Jeff Cox personally but seems like it’s his job to make lists, it’s your job as the parent to not really care what his list is, if you know your player is going to hear about it and it’s going to bother him, then read it with him and make it a non issues. Good luck to all of you youth sports parents out there and try to keep it fun.

Early puberty has helped many on this list. Compare the Jan / Feb/ March birth days to the 02 players and then ask if they would stand out in that group.