Welcome Fish Lake Winni Angler's

Log On Today - Fish On Tomorrow!

(603) 731-1804 / (603) 344-8698

Welcome Fish Lake Winni Anglers
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
thinking spring...upgrade

I've been using inline planer boards for several years and the only complaint I have is I can only run 2. I'm sure I could try to run 4 but things would get pretty intense. As such, I am considering an upgrade this spring to a mast/board system.

Money IS a consideration as I realize that $200 for the mast/reels plus line plus $50-75 for each board is probably cost-prohibitive for a system I am essentially testing. I have a 16 foot lund deep-v so I have mounting options of either 1.) mounting in the bow seat pedastal OR 2.) mounting on the bow raised deck. I don't want to leave anything on the deck I walk on that I can trip over when I bass fish later in the year.

Given all this, I am probably looking to enter the market looking for used double mast and 2 used boards. Let me know if you have anything that might meet my needs. The small deck on the point of my bow has my electric trolling motor but also room for a mast mount and is about a foot and a half above my casting deck so a 3-5 foot mast should do there. If I go with the pedestal seat mounted mast, it would be on my casting deck and probably needs to be closter to 5-6 foot.

System does not need to be beautiful or pristine but certainly functional and reliable. I'm not brand oriented and again, this is just a jumping off point to decide if I will maintain a mast system in the years to come or go back to inline. I was hoping to keep total cost under $200.

Re: thinking spring...upgrade

note: my final options would look like either AJ Whites boat (salmonitis) or I'm In (both on the showboats section of the site). AJs is up on the "bow deck" raised up and center and I'm Ins looks more like a pedestal seat install.