Womans Divorce Forum

Discuss your troubles, compare ex's, offer suggestions, and share stories!

Womans Divorce Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: New to this

Hi there,

I am not very good at giving advice. I am going through a divorce right now and I used to cry a lot before we separated. However, don't they say that love is blind? I used to sob and curl into a ball on my bed and ask God what did I do wrong? Well, after a while I realized the situation I was in, and I stopped crying over him. I remember reading that you have to love yourself more than you love him. His actions are not appropriate, and you deserve better. One thing I know from dealing with my ex is that the other women don't last. Whatever the underlying problem really is will surface, and I am sure it is not about kids. You are very smart to take care of your education before having kids, too. Just know that you will be okay, and this might be the path to a better life. If this isn't what you want to hear, then know that there are people who divorce and take a break and realize that they really do love each other. Sometimes people just need time.

Thanks, I know the underlying issue is not children or lack thereof. I wish I could say exactly what it is but in all honesty it could be a number of things. I know in the long run this will better for me it just hurts. How could someone who supposedly loves me so much do this? I have plans for this summer to finally go to Europe, my graduation present to myself, and I am looking into trying to get back into publishing. I love teaching but I hate the politics that go with it. I think this is a time for me to really find me, which is not something I did because I met my husband at 18 and we moved in together two weeks later. I need to find what makes me happy but the unhappiness is always present.