Womans Divorce Forum

Discuss your troubles, compare ex's, offer suggestions, and share stories!

Womans Divorce Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Im so tired of myself!

I digress on StrongSpirit's reply to Sue, but bringing up the last name issue caught my attention. When Jerk first left, my youngest, then 7, asked me if that meant he'd change his name to __(maiden name)____ since "we're getting divorced." That told me a LOT about his thought process. He already saw his dad as a separate entity from the family. So I explained that he'd always be ________ and blah blah blah. At Christmas I said we were have the (maiden name) side on Christmas Eve. He looked devastated. "Are you changing your name back? I want the same name you have!" He didn't seem to care if he had his dad's name. Then, to top it off, I'm a teacher and am called by his name probably a hundred times a day. Having kids together keeps us always connected, like it or NOT. But I've always known I've improved the family name-truly the better half.

I had mentioned I have been watching "Pink" music videos. Have you have seen/listened to "Family Portrait"? I can NOT watch this without tears pouring down my face, especially when she mentions changing the last name. I guess this is another reason why I will keep his. I really hope there is justice one day and they will FEEL all the pain they have caused.

There is a song by Katy Perry that I love. It is called Firework and the lyrics just seem to hit home. Here is a section of the lyrics:

You don't have to feel like a waste of space
You're original, cannot be replaced
If you only knew what the future holds
After a hurricane comes a rainbow

Check it out on youtube! For some reason it just touches me so much. Music has such a powerful affect on our emotions.

I will check out the song Family Portrait by Pink.