email: icehockeydboard@yahoo.com

High School & Prep Hockey
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: The Politics of High School

Rookie
This goes out to all the parents who've walked this road before. I'm a rookie to the high school hockey parent game and want some insight into what to expect. My kid plays for a large public high school with a solid middle-of-the-pack hockey program and so far my kid seems to have been placed fairly. Maybe I'm naïve, but I thought once you reached JV and Varsity hockey there were no politics involved; no daddy coaches, etc. Now I'm hearing rumor that there can be boosters and parents somehow involved in roster decisions. Is this speculation and sour grapes or is there some truth to it? Are there other factors involved at this late stage in the game besides the best kids being selected?
There are no politics in high school hockey.

The kids that are not playing or not playing where they feel they should (really where their parents feel they should play) are not playing for a reason.

Ask your kid. They know why.

Maybe they are lazy. Maybe they are weak. Maybe they have a bad attitude. Number of things.

Maybe it’s just a kid can be a strength to a weaker kid on the third line and it allows coach to play three lines. Instead of two power lines and a third line with a steep drop off.

Bottom line. Coaches are putting what they feel is the best chance to win on the ice. Your kid is where he belongs. Get over it or get realistic and objectively evaluate your kid.

Anon
Rookie