Click Here to Visit Our Facebook Page

email: icehockeydboard@yahoo.com

Youth Hockey
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Likelihood of going D1?

01 birth year was extraordinary. Also 00 to a lesser extent. That is not typical

anon
I am new to club hockey as my kid is starting this coming fall on an "elite" team... I was told about this board and warned of the sarcastic nature of the majority of the replies. My question is this....

I was told by my kid's new coach for next year, that he sees my son getting a full scholarship to a Division 1 school. He is only going to be a peewee major next year - is talk like this too early?

I played baseball and really have no idea about the hockey landscape. I was hoping to get some clarity on the program we are joining and the timeline for scholarship offers. He is going to be on the Bridgewater Bandits peewee major elite team.

Thanks in advance for any help!!
I would agree with the new coach. Most kids that play at the elite level by 12 yrs old will typically progress to D-1 colleges and will earn significant playing time their frosh yr.

So if my kid plays in the brick he’s going D1 so then I’m all set. Thank you for this very informative high sight

anon
I am new to club hockey as my kid is starting this coming fall on an "elite" team... I was told about this board and warned of the sarcastic nature of the majority of the replies. My question is this....

I was told by my kid's new coach for next year, that he sees my son getting a full scholarship to a Division 1 school. He is only going to be a peewee major next year - is talk like this too early?

I played baseball and really have no idea about the hockey landscape. I was hoping to get some clarity on the program we are joining and the timeline for scholarship offers. He is going to be on the Bridgewater Bandits peewee major elite team.