Youth Hockey
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Town Hockey

Anon
anon
Like anything else it depends on the town and the birth year. I know Hingham has some good town hockey, but most of those kids play club hockey where they learn the skills. Town hockey doesn\'t teach skills on the same level as club. It\'s a crazy statement to say that town hockey is similar to EHF and E9. Which town? Which E9 and EHF teams? Sounds like you are just mad that town hockey isn\'t what it once was. The real competition comes from playing on a club team. People don\'t play college hockey just because they played town hockey. Would seem nice and simple if that were the case but it\'s not.

I have no problem with town hockey but I\'ve heard club coaches complain that kids show up tired to the club game because of the town game they played that morning.
1. what I said was that town wasn’t as good as EHF elite and also not as good as E9 (I have no experience with E9, so that’s an educated guess). I’m comfortable saying that the high level town teams could be competitive against EHF platinum teams.
2. As I mentioned, my kid does both. So it’s not some nostalgia post. I was curious why so many are down on town hockey (it seems pretty good to me at the top levels).
3. The point was more at the top Town levels, all the kids seem to skate on a top club team in addition to their town team. It’s not just my town it’s the towns they play also.
4. I think the person who mentioned depth of roster made a good point.
Don’t start using numbers and bullet points, it confused the morons on this board.